Skip to: Content
Skip to: Site Navigation
Skip to: Search


Masters golf tournament: Know the rules of the game

2. What occurs if in addressing a tee shot, the player accidentally nudges the ball off the tee?

If there is no attempt to swing at the ball, but it falls off the tee from inadvertent contact in addressing it, the ball is just re-teed with no penalty.

If there is no attempt to swing at the ball, but it falls off the tee from inadvertent contact in addressing it, the ball is just re-teed with no penalty.

If there is no attempt to swing at the ball, but it falls off the tee from inadvertent contact in addressing it, the ball is just re-teed with no penalty.

If there is no attempt to swing at the ball, but it falls off the tee from inadvertent contact in addressing it, the ball is just re-teed with no penalty.

Matt Slocum/AP
(Read caption)

The player incurs a one-stroke penalty and must re-tee the ball.

 

The player must play the ball from where it lies.

 

There is no penalty and the player is allowed to start over.

 

The player incurs a penalty and must play his ball where it lies.

 
Javascript is disabled. Quiz scoring requires Javascript.

Read Comments

View reader comments | Comment on this story

  • Weekly review of global news and ideas
  • Balanced, insightful and trustworthy
  • Subscribe in print or digital

Special Offer