Subscribe

'Wolf Hall' stage and TV adaptations both arrive in April 2015

The miniseries adaptation of 'Wolf Hall' debuts on PBS on April 5, while the Broadway version of the story officially opens on April 9. 

  • close
    Actor Mark Rylance, who was the first Artistic Director of Shakespeare's Globe theatre and plays Thomas Cromwell in the 'Wolf Hall' television series, poses for photographers with the First Folio Shakespeare plays recently discovered in Saint-Omer in France.
    Matt Dunham/AP
    View Caption
  • About video ads
    View Caption
of

Fans of Hilary Mantel’s “Wolf Hall” novels, April is the month for you.

As we previously reported, a PBS miniseries adaptation of Mantel’s books “Wolf” and “Bring Up the Bodies,” which centers on the life of Thomas Cromwell, advisor to the British monarch Henry VIII, is debuting on April 5. It will run until May 10 and stars actor Mark Rylance as Cromwell, Damian Lewis of “Homeland” as King Henry VIII, and Claire Foy as one of Henry VIII’s wives, Anne Boleyn. 

Meanwhile, those who prefer their dramas on the stage can head to Broadway. A stage adaptation of the books, titled “Wolf Hall Parts One and Two,” has been in previews and officially opens on April 9. The stage adaptation is set up in an interesting way – theatergoers can go to the two sections of the show on the same day or attend on separate days. 

Author Mantel took the Man Booker Prize for both “Wolf” and “Bodies.” The title of the third novel in her Cromwell series is reportedly “The Mirror and the Light” but a publication date has not yet been announced, according to the Australian Broadcasting Corporation.

About these ads
Sponsored Content by LockerDome
 
 
Make a Difference
Inspired? Here are some ways to make a difference on this issue.
FREE Newsletters
Get the Monitor stories you care about delivered to your inbox.
 

We want to hear, did we miss an angle we should have covered? Should we come back to this topic? Or just give us a rating for this story. We want to hear from you.

Loading...

Loading...

Loading...

Save for later

Save
Cancel

Saved ( of items)

This item has been saved to read later from any device.
Access saved items through your user name at the top of the page.

View Saved Items

OK

Failed to save

You reached the limit of 20 saved items.
Please visit following link to manage you saved items.

View Saved Items

OK

Failed to save

You have already saved this item.

View Saved Items

OK