1652: Dutch reach Cape.

1795: First British occupation of Cape.

1806: Second British Occupation.

1836: Dutch-descended Afrikaners trek north to evade British rule.

1882: Boers proclaim South African Republic in Transvaal Province.

1899: British annex Transvaal and Orange Free State provinces. Anglo-Boer war erupts.

1902: Boers are defeated.

1910: Union of South Africa is founded, uniting two British provinces and two Boer Republics. Britain fails to secure rights for blacks.

1912: African National Congress is founded.

1948: National Party wins election, implements apartheid.

1960: ANC is banned. Indirect African representation in parliament is abolished.

1961: South Africa quits British Commonwealth.

1964: Nelson Mandela and ANC colleagues are jailed.

1984: Parliamentary representation is extended to mixed-race and Indian minorities.

1990: President Frederik de Klerk legalizes political dissent and frees Mandela.

1991: Apartheid laws are scrapped. Talks begin.

Dec. 17, 1993: Parties agree to plan for transition to democracy.

April 27, 1994: First nonracial ballot. Coalition government is established.

October 1994: Elections for local governments.

1999: Elections for unqualified majority rule.

We want to hear, did we miss an angle we should have covered? Should we come back to this topic? Or just give us a rating for this story. We want to hear from you.




Save for later


Saved ( of items)

This item has been saved to read later from any device.
Access saved items through your user name at the top of the page.

View Saved Items


Failed to save

You reached the limit of 20 saved items.
Please visit following link to manage you saved items.

View Saved Items


Failed to save

You have already saved this item.

View Saved Items