Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett's book 'Good Omens' is adapted for radio

The radio adaptation of 'Omens' will star actors Mark Heap and Peter Serafinowicz.

'Good Omens' is by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett.

Fans of Neil Gaiman and Sir Terry Pratchett, Christmas will come a little early.

A radio adaptation of Gaiman and Pratchett’s book “Good Omens” is debuting on the BBC’s Radio 4 on Dec. 22. “Omens” centers on the possibility of the end of the world and those trying to stop it, including a book-loving angel and a demon who used to be a serpent. 

According to the BBC, the adaptation will air in six parts and conclude on Dec. 27. The adaptation stars “Stardust” actor Mark Heap and Peter Serafinowicz of “Guardians of the Galaxy” and Pratchett and Gaiman will play characters as well.

“Omens” was first published in 1990 and earned critical praise, with Publishers Weekly writing that “unmistakably British humor is in abundance” and Library Journal writing of the novel, “Irreverently funny and unexpectedly wise, this collaboration between comics writer Gaiman and Discworld series author Pratchett fuses fantasy and comedy into an untrammeled romp through the latter days.”

You've read  of  free articles. Subscribe to continue.

Dear Reader,

About a year ago, I happened upon this statement about the Monitor in the Harvard Business Review – under the charming heading of “do things that don’t interest you”:

“Many things that end up” being meaningful, writes social scientist Joseph Grenny, “have come from conference workshops, articles, or online videos that began as a chore and ended with an insight. My work in Kenya, for example, was heavily influenced by a Christian Science Monitor article I had forced myself to read 10 years earlier. Sometimes, we call things ‘boring’ simply because they lie outside the box we are currently in.”

If you were to come up with a punchline to a joke about the Monitor, that would probably be it. We’re seen as being global, fair, insightful, and perhaps a bit too earnest. We’re the bran muffin of journalism.

But you know what? We change lives. And I’m going to argue that we change lives precisely because we force open that too-small box that most human beings think they live in.

The Monitor is a peculiar little publication that’s hard for the world to figure out. We’re run by a church, but we’re not only for church members and we’re not about converting people. We’re known as being fair even as the world becomes as polarized as at any time since the newspaper’s founding in 1908.

We have a mission beyond circulation, we want to bridge divides. We’re about kicking down the door of thought everywhere and saying, “You are bigger and more capable than you realize. And we can prove it.”

If you’re looking for bran muffin journalism, you can subscribe to the Monitor for $15. You’ll get the Monitor Weekly magazine, the Monitor Daily email, and unlimited access to CSMonitor.com.

QR Code to Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett's book 'Good Omens' is adapted for radio
Read this article in
https://www.csmonitor.com/Books/chapter-and-verse/2014/1209/Neil-Gaiman-and-Terry-Pratchett-s-book-Good-Omens-is-adapted-for-radio
QR Code to Subscription page
Start your subscription today
https://www.csmonitor.com/subscribe