Hilary Mantel's new work will feature Margaret Thatcher

Mantel's short story collection, reportedly titled 'The Assassination of Margaret Thatcher,' follows her critically acclaimed historical novels 'Wolf Hall' and 'Bring Up the Bodies.'

Hilary Mantel's next work will reportedly center on Margaret Thatcher.

Man Booker Prize-winning author Hilary Mantel has announced that her next work will include Margaret Thatcher.

Mantel, who is best known for her series set in Tudor England which includes the novels “Wolf Hall” and “Bring Up the Bodies,” will reportedly release a short story collection titled “The Assassination of Margaret Thatcher” in September.

“Where her last two novels explore how modern England was forged, The Assassination of Margaret Thatcher shows us the country we have become,” Mantel’s editor Nicholas Pearson told the Guardian. “These stories are Mantel at her observant best.”

According to the Telegraph, the collection will consist of 10 short works set in the modern day and Thatcher is a character in "Assassination."

Mantel is a two-time winner of the Man Booker Prize, the first female and British author to win the award twice. Adaptations of her novels “Wolf” and “Bodies” are currently being performed by the Royal Shakespeare Company.

When she won the Man Booker Prize for "Bodies," Reuters reported the third book in her planned Tudor trilogy, titled "The Mirror and the Light," would most likely be released in 2015. But now the Guardian is reporting "fans must wait" for the new book – no word on whether there's a new release date. Mantel told the Guardian she plans to finish "Mirror" this year.

of stories this month > Get unlimited stories
You've read  of  free articles. Subscribe to continue.

Unlimited digital access $11/month.

Get unlimited Monitor journalism.