'Wolf Hall' stage and TV adaptations both arrive in April 2015

The miniseries adaptation of 'Wolf Hall' debuts on PBS on April 5, while the Broadway version of the story officially opens on April 9. 

Matt Dunham/AP
Actor Mark Rylance, who was the first Artistic Director of Shakespeare's Globe theatre and plays Thomas Cromwell in the 'Wolf Hall' television series, poses for photographers with the First Folio Shakespeare plays recently discovered in Saint-Omer in France.

Fans of Hilary Mantel’s “Wolf Hall” novels, April is the month for you.

As we previously reported, a PBS miniseries adaptation of Mantel’s books “Wolf” and “Bring Up the Bodies,” which centers on the life of Thomas Cromwell, advisor to the British monarch Henry VIII, is debuting on April 5. It will run until May 10 and stars actor Mark Rylance as Cromwell, Damian Lewis of “Homeland” as King Henry VIII, and Claire Foy as one of Henry VIII’s wives, Anne Boleyn. 

Meanwhile, those who prefer their dramas on the stage can head to Broadway. A stage adaptation of the books, titled “Wolf Hall Parts One and Two,” has been in previews and officially opens on April 9. The stage adaptation is set up in an interesting way – theatergoers can go to the two sections of the show on the same day or attend on separate days. 

Author Mantel took the Man Booker Prize for both “Wolf” and “Bodies.” The title of the third novel in her Cromwell series is reportedly “The Mirror and the Light” but a publication date has not yet been announced, according to the Australian Broadcasting Corporation.

You've read  of  free articles. Subscribe to continue.

Dear Reader,

About a year ago, I happened upon this statement about the Monitor in the Harvard Business Review – under the charming heading of “do things that don’t interest you”:

“Many things that end up” being meaningful, writes social scientist Joseph Grenny, “have come from conference workshops, articles, or online videos that began as a chore and ended with an insight. My work in Kenya, for example, was heavily influenced by a Christian Science Monitor article I had forced myself to read 10 years earlier. Sometimes, we call things ‘boring’ simply because they lie outside the box we are currently in.”

If you were to come up with a punchline to a joke about the Monitor, that would probably be it. We’re seen as being global, fair, insightful, and perhaps a bit too earnest. We’re the bran muffin of journalism.

But you know what? We change lives. And I’m going to argue that we change lives precisely because we force open that too-small box that most human beings think they live in.

The Monitor is a peculiar little publication that’s hard for the world to figure out. We’re run by a church, but we’re not only for church members and we’re not about converting people. We’re known as being fair even as the world becomes as polarized as at any time since the newspaper’s founding in 1908.

We have a mission beyond circulation, we want to bridge divides. We’re about kicking down the door of thought everywhere and saying, “You are bigger and more capable than you realize. And we can prove it.”

If you’re looking for bran muffin journalism, you can subscribe to the Monitor for $15. You’ll get the Monitor Weekly magazine, the Monitor Daily email, and unlimited access to CSMonitor.com.