'Ender's Game' author Orson Scott Card announces new 'Ender' books

“Ender’s Game” author Orson Scott Card says the new books in the series will be aimed at young adults.

Richard Foreman/Summit Entertainment/AP
'Ender's Game' stars Asa Butterfield (l.) and Harrison Ford (r.).

“Ender’s Game” author Orson Scott Card recently announced he would be penning more books set in the “Ender” universe.

The film version of Card’s novel “Ender’s Game,” the first book of the series, was released on Nov. 1.

Card announced the new books during a video interview at Southern Virginia University, where he is a professor.

“The other thing that I think nobody knows.… this is my first public announcement of it, is a new set of sequels to ‘Ender’s Game,’” Card said during the video. “It's for a YA audience. It’s about what happens to Battle School after the International Fleet loses its purpose of war. It becomes what is called Fleet School and it prepares kids to be commanders, explorers, in the colonies that are going to be forming.”

There are already multiple books which take place in the world of Ender Wiggin, the main character of the novel “Ender’s Game,” which was first released in 1985. Multiple books and short stories have focused on Ender and those living in his world, and the first two books in a planned prequel trilogy, titled “Earth Unaware” and “Earth Afire,” were written by Card and author Aaron Johnston and were released in 2012 and this past June, respectively. The final book in the trilogy is planned to be released in 2014. 

In the video interview, Card did not offer a prospective release date for his new series. 

The film adaptation of “Ender's Game” topped the box office last weekend but has received mixed reviews, currently holding a score of 51 out of 100 on the review aggregating site Metacritic.

of stories this month > Get unlimited stories
You've read  of  free articles. Subscribe to continue.

Unlimited digital access $11/month.

Get unlimited Monitor journalism.