'Live by Night' by Dennis Lehane and 'Midnight in Peking' by Paul French were two of the night's big winners at the Edgar Awards.

Edgar Awards honor Dennis Lehane, 'Midnight in Peking'

The 2013 Edgar Awards – given to the books judged best in the mystery genre – went to titles that take readers from Boston to Peking, and from the Roaring '20s to the possible end of the world.

This year, the Edgars, one of the highest honors in the mystery writing genre, bestowed titles on books with subject matter ranging from a foreigner killed in China to a look at the world of crime during the Roaring ‘20s.

The Best Novel award was given to Dennis Lehane’s book “Live by Night,” which follows the son of a police captain as he explores the criminal underground of Prohibition-Era America. Lehane, a Boston native, paid sweet tribute to the recently threatened city in his acceptance speech, according to industry newsletter Shelf Awareness.

“Everything about me that people love, and everything about me that pisses people off comes from being from Boston,” Lehane said.

The Best Fact Crime award went to author Paul French for his work “Midnight in Peking,” which explored the death of a young Englishwoman in China in the 1930s as the country was experiencing tremendous change. (Check out Monitor writer Randy Dotinga’s Q&A with French here.) French came from Shanghai to accept his Edgar Award in New York City.

“It was a very long flight but obviously worth it,” French said during his acceptance speech.

The debut novel prize, titled Best First Novel by an American Author, went to “The Expats” by Chris Pavone. Pavone’s novel follows an American woman living abroad in Europe who is terrified her past is coming back to haunt her.

Meanwhile, the Best Paperback Original prize honored “The Last Policeman” by Ben H. Winters, a novel that centers on a police detective trying to solve a mystery as Earth is threatened with extinction. 

The Best Critical/Biographical award went to writer James O’Brien for his book “The Scientific Sherlock Holmes” and the Best Short Story prize was given to writer Karin Slaughter for her piece “The Unremarkable Heart.”

In categories for younger readers, author Jack D. Ferraiolo was awarded the Best Juvenile mystery award for his book “The Quick Fix,” while the Best Young Adult prize was given to the book “Code Name Verity” by Elizabeth Wein.

The Grand Master prize, which honors an author’s body of work, was given to “Winter of the World” author Ken Follett and Margaret Maron of “The Buzzard’s Table.”

The Edgars also award writing for a mystery TV episode, and this year’s honor went to the installment of the BBC series “Sherlock” titled “A Scandal in Belgravia.”

In his acceptance speech, Follett noted the power that a great story can have over a reader.

“If they're hoping it will turn out this way, and fearing it will turn out that way, they're going to turn the page,” he said.

You've read  of  free articles. Subscribe to continue.

Dear Reader,

About a year ago, I happened upon this statement about the Monitor in the Harvard Business Review – under the charming heading of “do things that don’t interest you”:

“Many things that end up” being meaningful, writes social scientist Joseph Grenny, “have come from conference workshops, articles, or online videos that began as a chore and ended with an insight. My work in Kenya, for example, was heavily influenced by a Christian Science Monitor article I had forced myself to read 10 years earlier. Sometimes, we call things ‘boring’ simply because they lie outside the box we are currently in.”

If you were to come up with a punchline to a joke about the Monitor, that would probably be it. We’re seen as being global, fair, insightful, and perhaps a bit too earnest. We’re the bran muffin of journalism.

But you know what? We change lives. And I’m going to argue that we change lives precisely because we force open that too-small box that most human beings think they live in.

The Monitor is a peculiar little publication that’s hard for the world to figure out. We’re run by a church, but we’re not only for church members and we’re not about converting people. We’re known as being fair even as the world becomes as polarized as at any time since the newspaper’s founding in 1908.

We have a mission beyond circulation, we want to bridge divides. We’re about kicking down the door of thought everywhere and saying, “You are bigger and more capable than you realize. And we can prove it.”

If you’re looking for bran muffin journalism, you can subscribe to the Monitor for $15. You’ll get the Monitor Weekly magazine, the Monitor Daily email, and unlimited access to CSMonitor.com.

QR Code to Edgar Awards honor Dennis Lehane, 'Midnight in Peking'
Read this article in
QR Code to Subscription page
Start your subscription today