Man Booker Prize: 6 nominees on the shortlist

Each year, the high-profile Man Booker Prize is awarded to a novel written by an author who is a citizen of Ireland, Zimbabwe, or the Commonwealth of Nations, a group that includes the U.K., Australia, India, and South Africa. The winner receives a cash prize of £50,000 and a significant boost in prestige. Last year, writer Julian Barnes snagged the prize for his book "The Sense of an Ending," and the subsequent bump in visibility has kept the novel in the public eye ever since. Now the shortlist for the 2012 prize has been announced. Which one of the following authors – including 2009 Booker Prize winner Hilary Mantel – will have his or her  name called when this year's winner is announced in London on Oct. 16?

1. 'Bring Up the Bodies,' by Hilary Mantel

Mantel has won the Man Booker Prize before, taking it in 2009 for "Wolf Hall," the novel that comes before "Bring Up the Bodies" in Mantel's Tudor series. "Bring Up the Bodies" continues to follow Thomas Cromwell during the reign of Anne Boleyn as Henry VIII grows disenchanted with his second queen and Anne goes to stand trial.

1 of 6
of stories this month > Get unlimited stories
You've read  of  free articles. Subscribe to continue.

Unlimited digital access $11/month.

Get unlimited Monitor journalism.