Attention, coin collectors, it's time to complete your sets

What's been called the most successful US coin program in history is about to enter the home stretch. Sometime in late January, the US Mint will begin to roll out Oklahoma-themed quarters, followed at roughly 10-week intervals, with the remaining four states in the 50-state series. The series, which has introduced coins in the order the states achieved statehood, began with a Delaware quarter in 1999. Many teachers are using the coins in the classroom, and they've been very popular as family collectibles. The remaining five states in the series, the dates they joined the union, and the symbols used in their design:

  • Oklahoma (Nov. 16, 1907) State bird, scissortail flycatcher; and state flower, the Indian blanket
  • New Mexico (Jan. 6, 1912) Zia sun symbol
  • Arizona (Feb. 14, 1912) Grand Canyon and saguaro cactus
  • Alaska (Jan. 3, 1959) Grizzly bear clutching a salmon in its mouth
  • Hawaii (Aug. 21, 1959) King Kamehameha
  • of 5 stories this month > Get unlimited stories
    You've read 5 of 5 free stories

    Only $1 for your first month.

    Get unlimited Monitor journalism.