Heisman Trophy goes to ... a diverse group of winners and losers

Heisman Trophy winners are not all headed for glory. Cam Newton of Auburn, as expected, won the 2010 Heisman Trophy, but he has been dogged by a recruitment controversy. Past winners of the honor have run an eclectic playbook of highs and lows.

Mike Segar/Reuters
Auburn University quarterback Newton, center, poses with the Heisman Trophy as he and other finalists for the 2010 Heisman met with the media in New York.

UPDATED: Sunday 12/12.2010

The Heisman Trophy has been awarded to the "most outstanding" college football player since 1935. Auburn quarterback Cam Newton took home the coveted bronze statue Saturday, but his victory has been dogged by controversy and hype. And, he's not the first controversy seen by Heisman winners.

Here's a quick blitz of Heisman winner trivia.

Did you know ...

Doug Flutie, Boston College: Dubbed "The Miracle in Miami" in 1984, Flutie completed a Hail Mary pass on the last play of the game to Gerard Phelan to clinch a 45-41 victory over the Miami Hurricanes. Many people mistakenly believe that this play clinched the Heisman for Flutie, but the voting was already completed before that game.

Archie Griffin is the only two-time winner. The Ohio State University standout won it in 1974 and 1975.

In 1968 O.J. Simpson ran away with the honor. The USC tailback famously stood trial in 1995 for a double murder – of his wife and her friend. After a "not guilty" verdict in that trial, Simpson was later convicted in 2008 and sent to prison for an armed confrontation with two sports memorabilia dealers at a Las Vegas casino-hotel.

Earlier this year, the 2005 winner Reggie Bush of USC became the first recipient of the award to return it amid allegations that he and his family received hundreds of thousands of dollars in gifts from two California-based marketing agents.

One Heisman winner is currently is a college coach. University of South Carolina head football coach Steve Spurrier won the Heisman in 1966.

Only four of the Heisman winners have gone on to become the Super Bowl MVP:

Roger Staubach – 1963 Heisman with Navy, Super Bowl VI with Dallas Cowboys

Jim Plunkett — 1970 Heisman with Stanford, Super Bowl XV with Oakland Raiders

Marcus Allen – 1981 Heisman with USC, Super Bowl XVIII with Oakland Raiders

Desmond Howard – 1991 Heisman with Michigan, Super Bowl XXXI with Green Bay Packers

You've read  of  free articles. Subscribe to continue.
QR Code to Heisman Trophy goes to ... a diverse group of winners and losers
Read this article in
QR Code to Subscription page
Start your subscription today