Nobel Prize in Literature: Winners from the past 10 years

The 2011 winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature, a notoriously hard to predict award, will be announced on Thursday. Here are the winners from the past decade.

3. Jean-Marie Gustave Le Clézio


The French author and professor – who spent his childhood in Nigeria and who has taught at universities around the world – was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature in 2008. He has written more than 400 works, including such books as "Ourania" and "L'Africain." The Nobel committee said they selected Le Clézio because he was the "author of new departures, poetic adventure and sensual ecstasy, explorer of a humanity beyond and below the reigning civilization."

3 of 10

Read Comments

View reader comments | Comment on this story