International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award finalists

Finalists for the IMPAC Award were announced last week in Dublin. The contest, the largest and most international of its kind, involves libraries from all over the world and is open to books written in any language. This year, nominations were made by 185 library systems in 129 cities from 51 countries. The winner of the 100,000 euro prize will be announced on June 15.

Gardening at Night by Diane Awerbuck (South Africa)

The Half Brother by Lars Saabye Christensen (Norway), translated from the Norwegian by Kenneth Steven

The Good Doctor by Damon Galgut (South Africa)

Elle by Douglas Glover (Canada) (Winner of the 2003 Governor-General's Award)

Phantom Pain by Arnon Grunberg (Hollard), translated from the Dutch by Sam Garrett (Winner of the 2003 AKO Prize)

Deafening by Frances Itani (Canada) (Reviewed Aug. 21, 2003)

The Great Fire by Shirley Hazzard (US) (Winner of the 2003 National Book Award. Reviewed Oct. 2, 2003.)

Willenbrock by Christoph Hein (Germany), translated from the German by Philip Boehm

The Known World by Edward P. Jones (US) (Winner of the 2004 Pulitzer Prize. Reviewed Aug. 14, 2003.)

The Fortress of Solitude by Jonathan Lethem (US) (Reviewed Sept. 11, 2003)

For more information, go to

You've read  of  free articles. Subscribe to continue.
QR Code to International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award finalists
Read this article in
QR Code to Subscription page
Start your subscription today