Richest prize

Field Notes

A first-time novelist from

Britain won the world's richest prize for a single work of fiction Monday.

Andrew Miller scooped 100,000 Irish pounds ($135,300) and the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award for "Ingenious Pain," a novel about a man unable to feel pain (Harcourt Brace 1997). He beat out heavyweights like American Don DeLillo for "Underworld" and Booker Prize-winner Ian McEwan for "Enduring Love."

The judging panel described "Ingenious Pain," set in the 18th century, as a virtuoso performance with narrative skill that belies the book's status as a first novel. The work was chosen from a list of eight culled from titles nominated by libraries in more than 50 countries.

Irish Prime Minister Bertie Ahern will award this year's prize at a ceremony in Dublin on June 12.

"I am genuinely astonished to win," Mr. Miller said.

You've read  of  free articles. Subscribe to continue.
QR Code to Richest prize
Read this article in
QR Code to Subscription page
Start your subscription today