1000BC - 636AD: The Golan Heights falls within the territory known as Palestine under the earliest Jewish settlements - the Kingdom of Solomon and the Hasmonean Jewish Kingdom.

636-1880AD: No Jewish settlement in the Golan during this period.

1882-1914: Part of the Turkish (Ottoman) Empire.

1914: British government declares war on Turkey.

1915: Britain draws up plans, with the help of Allies, for partition of the Ottoman Empire.

1916: Golan is included in the Allies' plan for an Arab state under French protection.

1919: Original Allies' plan is abandoned at Paris peace conference.

1920: France awarded mandate over Syria (including Golan Heights) under the League of Nations Treaty.

1946: Part of independent Syria.

1947: Golan is excluded from the UN partition plan that divides what had traditionally been Palestine into an Arab and Jewish state. It remains part of Syria.

1948: Golan remains part of Syria after Israeli war of independence.

1967: To stop shelling by Syria, Israel seizes Golan in Arab-Israeli conflict during a battle that lasted 27 hours and ended with the UN cease-fire.

1973: Golan is partially reoccupied by Syria in Yom Kippur war, then reclaimed by Israel.

1974: Israel retains the Golan Heights following a UN-sponsored disengagement agreement involving partial Israeli withdrawal (west of Kuneitra) and a creation of a demilitarized zone on the Syrian side.

1981: Israel annexes the Golan Heights.

1991: Syria joins Middle East peace talks.

1992: Secret talks between Syria and Israel reach understanding that Israel will return the Golan Heights to Syria in exchange for a lasting peace.

1992 - present: Secret talks continue without agreement.

You've read  of  free articles. Subscribe to continue.