June 1960: Belgian Congo becomes independent. November 1965: Army under Col. Joseph Mobutu takes power after five years of unrest.

1970: General Mobutu elected president unopposed.

January 1972: Mobutu changes name to Mobutu Sese Seko.

1982: Opposition Union for Democracy and Social Progress (UDPS) formed.

May 1983: Amnesty International publishes highly critical report.

February 1989 and February 1990: Student demonstrations in Kinshasa and Lubumbashi violently suppressed.

April 1990: Unrest, demonstrations continue. Mobutu announces multiparty system. Etienne Tshisekedi, UDPS leader, released from house arrest.

We want to hear, did we miss an angle we should have covered? Should we come back to this topic? Or just give us a rating for this story. We want to hear from you.