The race will be televised to millions of viewers in 25 countries by ABC from 11 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. (Eastern Daylight Time) this Sunday, May 27.

This year's pole sitter, Emerson Fittipaldi, qualified at a record 225.301 miles per hour, breaking Rick Mears' year-old record of 223.885.

Mears is trying to match the record of four Indy victories, held by A.J. Foyt and Al Unser.

None of Foyt's victories has come from a front-row start; Unser has won once from the pole and once from as far back as 20th position.

The 33 cars comprise the fastest lineup in Indy history, with a field average in qualifications of 217.437 m.p.h.

An Indy car's chassis must have an open cockpit, open wheel, and a single seat. Wheelbase: at least 96 inches. Length: maximum of 184 inches. Width: maximum of 78 1/2 inches. Weight: at least 1,475 lbs.

You've read  of  free articles. Subscribe to continue.
Read this article in
QR Code to Subscription page
Start your subscription today