Namibia's Long And Winding Road To Independence

1885: The Germans, under Bismarck, declare the colony of South-West Africa. 1915: Colony falls under South African administration after military victory over the Germans. 1920: Mandated to South Africa by the League of Nations. 1946: UN Trusteeship replaces the League of Nations mandate. 1957: The South West African Peoples Organization (Swapo) is formed in Cape Town, South Africa. 1966: UN General Assembly revokes Pretoria's right to rule the territory. 1969: UN Security Council declares South African occupation of the territory illegal. 1971: World Court rules against South African occupation. 1973: UN General Assembly recognizes Swapo as the ``sole and authentic representative'' of the Namibian people. 1978: UN Security Council adopts Namibian independence plan known as Resolution 435. 1982: Pretoria endorses Resolution 435. 1987: South African forces suffer heavy casualties at the battle of Cuito Cuanavale. 1988 May - US-brokered peace talks between Angola, Cuba, and South Africa begin. Dec. 22 - Foreign Ministers from the three countries end South African occupation through the implementation of UN Resolution 435. 1989 April 1 - Implementation commences under UN supervision but is almost derailed by Swapo-South African Defense Forces clashes. Sept. 15 - Swapo leader Sam Nujoma returns to Windhoek after 29 years in exile. Nov. 13 - Swapo wins a simple majority in independence ballot but fails to win two-thirds necessary to draw up new constitution alone. 1990 Feb. 9 - The elected Constituent Assembly unanimously adopts constitution based on multiparty democracy and a bill of rights. March 22 - Nambia is independent.

You've read  of  free articles. Subscribe to continue.
QR Code to Namibia's Long And Winding Road To Independence
Read this article in
QR Code to Subscription page
Start your subscription today