NBC big Emmy winner with 16 awards, CBS gets 11

NBC was once again the big winner at the 39th annual Emmy Awards, with 16 Emmys. Five awards went to ``L.A. Law,'' and other NBC winners included ``Golden Girls'' (best comedy series), Rue McClanahan and Terry Hughes of ``Golden Girls'' (best lead actress, best director), Michael J. Fox of ``Family Ties'' (best lead actor in comedy series), John Larroquette of ``Night Court'' (best supporting actor in comedy series), and Bonnie Bartlett of ``St. Elsewhere'' (best supporting actress in drama series). CBS won five out of its 11 Emmys for ``Promise,'' starring James Woods and James Garner. Sharon Gless of CBS's ``Cagney and Lacey'' and John Hillerman of CBS's ``Magnum, P.I.'' both won acting awards.

One of ABC's four Emmys was awarded to Bruce Willis for ``Moonlighting.'' PBS got eight Emmys.

You've read  of  free articles. Subscribe to continue.
QR Code to NBC big Emmy winner with 16 awards, CBS gets 11
Read this article in
QR Code to Subscription page
Start your subscription today