THE BOLSHOI BALLET will make its first US visit in eight years. The tour will start June 30 at the Metropolitan Opera House in New York and then go on to Washington, San Francisco, and Los Angeles. The program will include the US premi`ere of Shostakovich's ``The Golden Age''; two other full-length ballets, ``Raymonda'' and ``Giselle''; and other dances still to be announced. MIKHAIL BARYISHNIKOV has been invited to dance in Moscow for the first time since his 1974 defection. The dancer, a naturalized US citizen, met with the Bolshoi's artistic director, Yuri Grigorovich, Sunday to discuss the possibility. A MUSICAL drama based on the life of Martin Luther King Jr. is in the early planning stages. Coretta Scott King has given ``Gandhi'' filmmaker Sir Richard Attenborough rights to her husband's story. Tentative plans call for a Broadway run sometime next fall. WINNERS OF ACE AWARDS for cable television, given at ceremonies in Los Angeles Tueday, include: Robin Williams (``Comic Relief,'' HBO) for best performance in a comedy special; Patti Labelle (``Sisters in the Name of Love,'' HBO) for best performance in a music special; Mandy Patinkin (``Sunday in the Park with George,'' Showtime) as best actor in a theatrical or dramatic special; Bernadette Peters (``Sunday in the Park with George,'' Showtime) as best actress in a theatrical or dramatic special; Anthony Hopkins (``Mussolini,'' HBO) as best actor in a movie or miniseries; and Beah Richards (``As Summers Die,'' HBO) as best actress in a movie or miniseries. Winning shows included ``Down and Out in America'' (HBO) as the best documentary special or series; ``American Sports Cavalcade'' (Nashville Network) as best sports event series; ``Lady Windermere's Fan'' (Arts & Entertainment) as best theatrical special; ``Oxbridge Blues'' (Arts & Entertainment) as best dramatic series; and ``Fraggle Rock'' (HBO) as best children's special or series for age eight or younger. THE ROCK-AND-ROLL HALL OF FAME inducted 15 new members last night in ceremonies at the Waldorf Astoria in New York. The inductees will be honored, along with 10 chosen last year, in a hall of fame to be established in Cleveland. This year's winners: Aretha Franklin, Smokey Robinson, the Coasters, Roy Orbison, Carl Perkins, Bo Diddley, Eddie Cochran, and B.B. King. Inducted posthumously were Muddy Waters, Bill Haley, Marvin Gaye, Rick Nelson, Joe Turner, Clyde McPhatter, and Jackie Wilson.

You've read  of  free articles. Subscribe to continue.
Read this article in
QR Code to Subscription page
Start your subscription today