News In Brief

Seven Latin America chiefs support Contadora

Seven Latin American heads of state have signed a joint declaration here giving full support for efforts by the Contadora group of countries to bring peace to Central America. The declaration said the efforts of Colombia, Mexico, Venezuela, and Panama - the Contadora countries - were designed to allow the people of Central America to define their own destiny with democracy and self-determination.

The document was signed by the presidents of Argentina, Nicaragua, Colombia, Panama, Costa Rica, Bolivia, and the Dominican Republic.

We want to hear, did we miss an angle we should have covered? Should we come back to this topic? Or just give us a rating for this story. We want to hear from you.