New church lecturers named

The Christian Science Board of Directors has named nine new members of the Board of Lectureship, as well as three special lecturers who would be available to the Directors in accordance with the Church Manual by Mary Baker Eddy ''to lecture at such places and at such times as the cause of Christian Science demands.'' These three, James K. Kyser, President of The Mother Church; Allison W. Phinney Jr., Clerk; and Michael A. West, Treasurer, are all practitioners and teachers of Christian Science.

The nine other new members are Olga M. Chaffee, Houston, Texas; Roberto Cuniberti, Annapolis, Md.; Lenore Z. Glover, Seattle, Wash.; Jean Stark Hebenstreit, Kansas City, Mo.; Desmond J. Hill, Sydney, Australia; Marion Sheldon Pierpont, Des Moines, Iowa; Ann C. Stewart, Los Altos, Calif.; Jack Thornton, Boston, Mass.; and Morris Trevithick, also of Boston.

The new speakers will join other members of the 1983-84 Board of Lectureship in giving more than 3,000 public lectures. These are sponsored by Churches of Christ, Scientist - as well as Christian Science Societies and College Organizations - in some 59 countries around the world.

of 5 stories this month > Get unlimited stories
You've read 5 of 5 free stories

Only $1 for your first month.

Get unlimited Monitor journalism.