[ No headline ]

JAZZ Toshiko Akiyoshi-Lew Tabackin Big Band: Tanuki's Night Out. Jam Records 006. This is a first for the TA-LT Big Band - normally Toshiko writes and arranges her own compositions, but this time the orchestrations are hers, but the tunes are all written by her husband Lew Tabackin. This is a happy meeting of the minds on several levels - both Lew's tenor and flute and Toshiko's piano are showcased here, and the combination of Lew's pieces and Toshiko's arrangements is stunning. On the title cut, ''Tanuki's Night Out,'' a happy, boppish unison line is introduced somewhat ominously by a drum solo followed by a chorus of moaning trombones. Later on, the trombones are reintroduced behind a reworking of the original line in a most intriguing way, giving a solid sense of cohesiveness, contrast, and development to the arrangement. Lyricism abounds on the ballads, especially ''Falling Petal,'' which features a tenderly expressive piano solo by Toshiko, and a passionate, yet restrained flute solo by Lew. Toshiko's piano gives ''Yet Another Tear'' a stately introduction, followed by Lew's tenor for a brief but moving tribute to the late saxophonist Ben Webster. ''A Bit Byas'd,'' dedicated to saxophonist Don Byas, shows off Lew at his wonderfully inventive best, on a long tenor solo. Available in some stores, or by writing to Jam Records, 1737 De Sales Street NW, Washington, D.C. 20036.

You've read  of  free articles. Subscribe to continue.
QR Code to
Read this article in
QR Code to Subscription page
Start your subscription today