Monitor bureau chief shares journalism award

George B. Merry, New England bureau chief of The Christian Science Monitor, and Richard Steele, president and chief executive officer of Worcester Telegram & Gazette Inc., were named recipients of the Yankee Quill Award for Achievement and Distinction in Journalism.

The award has been presented by the New England Society of Journalists (Sigma Delta Chi) through Colby College in Waterville, Maine, since 1960. Previous Monitor winners have included Erwin D. Canham, Edgar M. Mills, Paul S. Deland, and Gordon N. Converse.

of 5 stories this month > Get unlimited stories
You've read 5 of 5 free stories

Only $1 for your first month.

Get unlimited Monitor journalism.