shadow

4 states raise penalty for drunken driving

A number of states are cracking down on drunken drivers, and Connecticut intends to arrest violators of a new law raising the legal drinking age from 18 to 19.

Tennessee, with the nation's toughest law, will sentence drinking drivers with two days in jail and a $250 fine on first conviction. Tennessee, Iowa, Rhode Island, and Florida imposed stiffer penalties Thursday.

of 5 stories this month > Get unlimited stories
You've read 5 of 5 free stories

Only $1 for your first month.

Get unlimited Monitor journalism.