Four EC nations to take part in Sinai peace force

Britain, France, Italy, and the Netherlands announced their participation in a peacekeeping force for the Sinai Peninsula. An Egyptian official called it a positive contribution to Mideast peace and said Egypt hoped the participation of the four European Community members would encourage other countries like Australia, Canada, and New Zealand to join. The force will be directed by the United States.

of 5 stories this month > Get unlimited stories
You've read 5 of 5 free stories

Only $1 for your first month.

Get unlimited Monitor journalism.