1980 Nobel Peace Prize goes to Argentine

Argentine Adolfo Perez Esquivel, leader of Servicio Paz y Justicia, a Latin American peace group, won the 1980 Nobel Peace Prize. He was cited for his work in coordinating the various Latin American nonviolent movements, and was nominated by the British Quaker Society.

Friday, Harvard University professor Baruj Benacerraf; George Snell, a researcher at the Jackson Laboratory in Bar Harbor, Maine; and Jean Dausset of the St. Louis Hospital of the University of Paris shared the 1980 Nobel Prize for medicine. They were honored for their years of research, conducted separately, in the field of immunology.

of 5 stories this month > Get unlimited stories
You've read 5 of 5 free stories

Only $1 for your first month.

Get unlimited Monitor journalism.