Ramadan 101: Ten facts about the holy month of Ramadan

9. The Five Pillars of Islam

  • close
    Members of the Muslim community attend midday prayers at Strasbourg Grand Mosque in Strasbourg on the first day of Ramadan July 9, 2013.
    Vincent Kessler/Reuters
    View Caption
  • About video ads
    View Caption

Ramadan is one of the five pillars of Islam, the practices that all Muslims must follow. They are as follows:

Shahada: This is a profession of belief in the one true God. The declaration usually goes as follows: “There is no god but God and Muhammad is his prophet and servant.”

Salat: Praying five time daily facing the direction of Mecca. Muslims must practice ablution before the prayers. 

Zakat: The giving of charity to the poor and needy. 

Sawm: Fasting during the month of Ramadan.

Hajj: The pilgrimage to Mecca that each Muslim must make at least once in his or her lifetime. 

9 of 10