Why the Iowa Straw Poll is no more

State Republican officials decided to end the quadrennial Iowa Straw Poll after almost 40 years.

Daniel Acker/Reuters/File
A voter holds his Iowa straw poll admission ticket in Ames, Iowa on August 13, 2011.

The Iowa Straw Poll, a high-profile Republican Party tradition for nearly four decades, is now dead.

The Iowa Republican Party on Friday voted unanimously to kill the state’s presidential straw poll in an early morning conference call.

Previously, several prominent Republicans – including former Florida Governor Jeb Bush, former Arkansas Governor Mike Huckabee, and Florida Senator Marco Rubio – have said they are not going to participate in this year’s event, which was planned for August 8.

"I've said since December that we would only hold a straw poll if the candidates wanted one, and this year that is just not the case," Iowa Republican Party Chairman Jeff Kaufmann said in a statement after the vote.

Des Moines Register's chief politics reporter Jennifer Jacobs tweeted minutes before the announcement:

Since 1979, the carnival-like summer event had been held prior to the contested Iowa Republican caucuses, and was meant to raise money for the state party.

The event faced a lot of criticism over the past years over its high costs for candidates and not reflecting the broader preferences of Iowa Republicans.

2007 straw poll winner and former Massachusetts Gov. Mitt Romney could not win the Iowa nominating caucuses the next year.

But Michele Bachmann’s selection in 2011 was the major blow. After her surprise win in the poll, then-Minnesota congresswoman finished at the back of the pack in the 2012 Iowa caucuses, and dropped out of the presidential race

Last January, Republican National Committee legal counsel John Ryder described the event in a memo as “simply a fundraising mechanism at an entertainment event” with no connection “to any primary, caucuses, or state convention.”

"It is recommended that you continue to make clear to candidates, activists, and the public that the straw poll is unofficial and unscientific,” the memo said.

Out of a total of six Iowa straw polls, three winners – George H.W. Bush in 1979, Bob Dole in 1995, and George W. Bush in 1999 – went on to capture the Iowa GOP caucus the following year.

George W. Bush was the only straw poll winner to go all the way to win the Republican nomination and the presidential election in 2000.

The straw poll had traditionally been held on the campus of Iowa State University in Ames, but this year the state party decided to move the site to nearby Boone.

On Friday, Kaufman expressed his regret over the cancellation of the event.

“This step, while extremely distasteful for those of us who love the Straw Poll, [it] is necessary to strengthen our First in the Nation status and ensure our future nominee has the best chance possible to take back the White House in 2016.”

However, as politics reporter for politico Kyle Cheney tweeted, the poll might come back again one day:

You've read  of  free articles. Subscribe to continue.

Dear Reader,

About a year ago, I happened upon this statement about the Monitor in the Harvard Business Review – under the charming heading of “do things that don’t interest you”:

“Many things that end up” being meaningful, writes social scientist Joseph Grenny, “have come from conference workshops, articles, or online videos that began as a chore and ended with an insight. My work in Kenya, for example, was heavily influenced by a Christian Science Monitor article I had forced myself to read 10 years earlier. Sometimes, we call things ‘boring’ simply because they lie outside the box we are currently in.”

If you were to come up with a punchline to a joke about the Monitor, that would probably be it. We’re seen as being global, fair, insightful, and perhaps a bit too earnest. We’re the bran muffin of journalism.

But you know what? We change lives. And I’m going to argue that we change lives precisely because we force open that too-small box that most human beings think they live in.

The Monitor is a peculiar little publication that’s hard for the world to figure out. We’re run by a church, but we’re not only for church members and we’re not about converting people. We’re known as being fair even as the world becomes as polarized as at any time since the newspaper’s founding in 1908.

We have a mission beyond circulation, we want to bridge divides. We’re about kicking down the door of thought everywhere and saying, “You are bigger and more capable than you realize. And we can prove it.”

If you’re looking for bran muffin journalism, you can subscribe to the Monitor for $15. You’ll get the Monitor Weekly magazine, the Monitor Daily email, and unlimited access to CSMonitor.com.

QR Code to Why the Iowa Straw Poll is no more
Read this article in
QR Code to Subscription page
Start your subscription today