NCAA Tournament: Women's Final Four is set

NCAA tournament women's Final Four will feature two Big East teams and one each from the Big 12 and Pac 10. The women's NCAA tournament concludes next Tuesday in Indianapolis

Tim Sharp/Reuters
Texas A&M Aggies guard Sydney Carter (front, L) and members of her team celebrate with the NCAA Dallas Regional trophy after beating the Baylor Lady Bears in their NCAA Women's Dallas Regional college basketball game in Texas March 29.

Former national champions headline the NCAA women's tournament national semifinals this weekend in Indianapolis.

The University of Connecticut, defending and seven-time NCAA champion, reached its 12th women's Final Four with a 75-40 pasting of Duke Tuesday night in Philadelphia.

Texas A&M, another Final Four team, proved it's hard to beat one team four times in a season. Baylor had won both Big 12 regular-season meetings and the conference tournament championship game against the Aggies. But when it counted most, in the Dallas region final Tuesday night, A&M beat the Bears, 58-46.

UConn and Texas A&M will be joined at the women's Final Four by two-time national champion Stanford and Notre Dame. The Cardinal swept past a game Gonzaga squad Monday night in the Spokane, Washington region final.

The Fighting Irish, the 2001 NCAA champion, snapped an 0-for-20 losing skid to Tennessee in defeating the Volunteers Monday night in the Dayton, Ohio region final.

Sunday's Final Four looks like this: Stanford will play Texas A&M at 7 PM ET, with UConn meeting Big East foe Notre Dame in the nightcap. The Huskies have beaten the Irish three times this season.

The national championship could come down to a rematch of UConn and Stanford, who stopped the Huskies NCAA-record 90-game winning streak last December.

You've read  of  free articles. Subscribe to continue.
QR Code to NCAA Tournament: Women's Final Four is set
Read this article in
QR Code to Subscription page
Start your subscription today