Heisman Trophy: Top 10 winners who succeeded in pro football

Paul Hornung


Hornung was a quarterback at Notre Dame when he won the Heisman Trophy in 1956. "The Golden Boy" switched to halfback when he went on to play in the pros for the Green Bay Packers. In the 1960s, Hornung helped them win four NFL Championships and Super Bowl I.

Because of his placekicking duties, along with running the football, Hornung was the NFL's single-season points record holder. He scored 176 points in 1960, a record that stood for 46 years. Hornung was elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1986.

2 of 10

Read Comments

View reader comments | Comment on this story