Who's who on Congress's debt 'super committee'

Congress has created a special super committee to find at least $1.2 trillion in US budget cuts. If the plan is voted down, automatic spending cuts are slated to occur. Here are the 12 lawmakers named to the super committee.

2. Rep. Xavier Becerra (D) of California

  • close
    FILE - In this July 12, 2011 file photo, House Ways and Means Committee member Rep. Xavier Becerra, D-Calif., speaks during a news conference on Capitol Hill in Washington. House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi of Calif. has appointed Becerra and two other Democrats to Congress' new debt-reduction supercommittee, completing the 12-member panel's roster.
    Lauren Victoria Burke/AP Photo/File
    View Caption
  • About video ads
    View Caption

Representative Becerra is the vice chairman of the Democratic Caucus and a senior member of the Ways and Means Committee.

Becerra served on President Obama’s deficit commission, now known as Simpson-Bowles, and – like the other three commission veterans appointed to the new debt committee – he voted against the commission’s final report.

Then, as now, Becerra opposes proposed cuts to entitlement programs, especially if not accompanied with tax hikes to the wealthiest Americans to ensure “shared sacrifice.”

Alone among Democrats appointed to serve on the debt panel, Becerra voted against the compromise deal to raise the debt ceiling on Aug. 2. Republican Sen. Pat Toomey of Pennsylvania also opposed the measure.

None of the House Democratic nominees are expected to be swing votes in a compromise deal.

2 of 12