Senate's 16 new members arrive on Capitol Hill: Who are they?

Starting this Monday, the Senate welcomes 16 fresh faces to the Capitol’s marbled halls. While they won’t be sworn into office until January, these newly-elected members – three Democrats and 13 Republicans – come to Washington to tour the buildings, learn rules of decorum, and meet with their future coworkers. The new Senators come largely from open seats where both parties had a new candidate on the ticket and include a handful of tea partyers.

Kelly Ayotte of New Hampshire

Cheryl Senter/AP
Republican Sen.-elect Kelly Ayotte thanks New Hampshire supporters in Manchester, N.H., on Nov. 3.

New Hampshire’s former attorney general, Kelly Ayotte defeated Democratic congressman Paul Hodes in the race for Republican Judd Gregg’s vacated seat. Ms. Ayotte won by a 23.5 percentage point margin. She is endorsed by the National Vietnam and Gulf War Veterans Coalition and the Council for Citizens Against Government Waste Political Action Committee.

1 of 16
of stories this month > Get unlimited stories
You've read  of  free articles. Subscribe to continue.

Unlimited digital access $11/month.

Get unlimited Monitor journalism.