Who were the previous 10 Nobel Peace Prize winners?

Imprisoned Chinese dissident Liu Xiaobo won the 2010 Nobel Peace Prize Friday for his long and nonviolent struggle for human rights in his country. Here is a list of the past 10 Nobel Peace Prize winners and why the committee chose them.

2009: Barack Obama

Bjorn Sigurdson/Reuters/file
Barack Obama holds his medal and certificate as he stands with Norwegian Nobel Committee Chairman Thorbjoern Jagland is Oslo on Dec. 10, 2009.

The American president was a surprise pick for the prize, which he was awarded "for his extraordinary efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and cooperation between peoples,” the committee said.

1 of 10
of stories this month > Get unlimited stories
You've read  of  free articles. Subscribe to continue.

Unlimited digital access $11/month.

Get unlimited Monitor journalism.