MTV Movie Awards: Melissa McCarthy's win a first for women

McCarthy won the comedic genius prize at the MTV Movie Awards ceremony, while other major awards went to the films 'Star Wars: The Force Awakens' and 'Straight Outta Compton.'

Melissa McCarthy accepts the Comedic Genius Award during the 2016 MTV Movie Awards in Los Angeles.

The 2016 MTV Movie Awards included big wins for "Star Wars: The Force Awakens," "Straight Outta Compton," and comedian Melissa McCarthy.

Ms. McCarthy, whose new film "The Boss" opened on April 8, was the first female comedian to be honored with MTV's comedic genius prize following previous prizes going to actors Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart. 

"In any conversation about funny women in Hollywood, the name Melissa McCarthy must come up," MTV writer Stacey Grant wrote in the announcement of McCarthy receiving the prize. "...McCarthy’s had us in stitches since day one."

Following an era of blockbuster movie comedy dominated by the group of male actors known as "the frat pack," which included Mr. Ferrell, Ben Stiller, Vince Vaughn, Luke Wilson, and Owen Wilson, McCarthy is one of a few female comedians, including Tina Fey and Amy Poehler, who are now headlining high-profile film releases. 

McCarthy starred in the 2000s WB TV series "Gilmore Girls" and went on to appear in such comedies as "Bridesmaids," "Identity Thief," "The Heat," "Tammy," and "Spy."

She will star in a female-led new version of "Ghostbusters" this summer with Kristen Wiig, Leslie Jones, and Kate McKinnon.

"I may be the first woman to win Comedic Genius," McCarthy said as she accepted her prize during the ceremony, which aired on April 10. "But I am certainly ... not the first to deserve it." She mentioned actors such as Lucille Ball, Carol Burnett, Lily Tomlin, and Gilda Radner, among others.

Meanwhile, the MTV Movie Awards separated its big film prizes into the categories "movie of the year" and "true story" this year. In addition to wins for "Force" winning the movie of the year prize and "Compton" winning the true story award, "Mad Max: Fury Road" actress Charlize Theron won the best female performance award and Leonardo DiCaprio of "The Revenant" won the best male performance prize. The documentary award went to "Amy."

Daisy Ridley of "Force" took the breakthrough performance prize, while "Jurassic World" actor Chris Pratt won the action performance award and "Deadpool" actor Ryan Reynolds won the prize for comedic performance. 

"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 2" actress Jennifer Lawrence won best hero award, while Amy Poehler won the virtual performance prize for the film "Inside Out" and "Force" actor Adam Driver took the best villain prize.

Mr. Reynolds and Ed Skrein of the movie "Deadpool" took the prize for best fight, while "Pitch Perfect 2" actors Adam DeVine and Rebel Wilson won the best kiss award and the cast of "Pitch" won the best ensemble award.

The ceremony was hosted by Mr. Hart and Dwayne Johnson.

You've read  of  free articles. Subscribe to continue.

Dear Reader,

About a year ago, I happened upon this statement about the Monitor in the Harvard Business Review – under the charming heading of “do things that don’t interest you”:

“Many things that end up” being meaningful, writes social scientist Joseph Grenny, “have come from conference workshops, articles, or online videos that began as a chore and ended with an insight. My work in Kenya, for example, was heavily influenced by a Christian Science Monitor article I had forced myself to read 10 years earlier. Sometimes, we call things ‘boring’ simply because they lie outside the box we are currently in.”

If you were to come up with a punchline to a joke about the Monitor, that would probably be it. We’re seen as being global, fair, insightful, and perhaps a bit too earnest. We’re the bran muffin of journalism.

But you know what? We change lives. And I’m going to argue that we change lives precisely because we force open that too-small box that most human beings think they live in.

The Monitor is a peculiar little publication that’s hard for the world to figure out. We’re run by a church, but we’re not only for church members and we’re not about converting people. We’re known as being fair even as the world becomes as polarized as at any time since the newspaper’s founding in 1908.

We have a mission beyond circulation, we want to bridge divides. We’re about kicking down the door of thought everywhere and saying, “You are bigger and more capable than you realize. And we can prove it.”

If you’re looking for bran muffin journalism, you can subscribe to the Monitor for $15. You’ll get the Monitor Weekly magazine, the Monitor Daily email, and unlimited access to