Teen Choice Awards: Who won and why some fans are angry about the voting process

Teen Choice Awards: The movie 'The Fault in Our Stars' was one of the biggest winners at the TCAs, while some viewers became angry with the voting process after TCA winner Cameron Dallas tweeted, 'It's funny how they told me I won the viner award 6 days before the voting ended.'

Mario Anzuoni/Reuters
Teen Choice Awards winners included Shailene Woodley (l.), Nat Wolff (center), and Ansel Elgort (r.).

Movies and TV shows like “The Fault in Our Stars” and “Pretty Little Liars” won at the Teen Choice Awards on Aug. 10, while some fans were upset when Internet stars that were nominated for awards tweeted that the winners of some categories were told that they won days before voting was completed.

The Teen Choice Awards, which were hosted by Sarah Hyland of the ABC sitcom “Modern Family” and Tyler Posey of the MTV show “Teen Wolf,” honored actress Shailene Woodley, who took home both the Choice Movie Actress: Action/Adventure prize for the movie “Divergent” and the Choice Movie Actress: Drama award for the film “The Fault in Our Stars.” “Fault” was one of the big winners of the night, with “Fault” actor Ansel Elgort receiving the Choice Movie Actor: Drama prize (he also took home the Choice Movie Breakout Star award for his work in “Fault” and “Divergent”), actor Nat Wolff receiving the Choice Movie Scene-Stealer award for his work in the film, the trio of actors receiving the Choice Movie Chemistry prize, Woodley and Elgort receiving the Choice Movie Liplock award, and the movie receiving the Choice Movie: Drama award.  

The “Hunger Games” films also did well, with “The Hunger Games: Catching Fire” receiving the Choice Movie: Sci-Fi/Fantasy prize, “Games” actress Jennifer Lawrence snagging the Choice Movie Actress: Sci-Fi/Fantasy award for "Games" and "X-Men: Days of Future Past," Josh Hutcherson of “Games” being honored with the Choice Movie Actor: Sci-Fi/Fantasy prize, and actor Donald Sutherland receiving the Choice Movie Villain award.

Meanwhile, the ABC Family TV show “Pretty Little Liars” received the Choice TV Show: Drama award and “Liars” actor Ian Harding took home the Choice TV Actor: Drama prize, while “Liars” actress Lucy Hale was the recipient of the Choice TV Actress: Drama award. Tyler Blackburn of “Liars” received the Choice Summer TV Star, Male award and “Liars” actress Ashley Benson was the recipient of the Choice Summer TV Star, Female prize.

Musician Ed Sheeran won the Choice Male Artist award, while Ariana Grande was selected as Choice Female Artist. 

The TCAs added special Internet categories this year for fans to vote on such as Choice Web Star (male and female) and Choice Viner. However, some fans were shocked when Choice Web Star: Male nominee Cameron Dallas lost the award to Tyler Oakley and Dallas tweeted, “He already knew he was going to win,” later adding, “It’s funny how they told me I won the viner award 6 days before the voting ended and made the runners up still tweet to vote for them.”

Matt Espinosa, who was nominated for Choice Viner, tweeted, “Basically they picked the people almost 6 days before voting was done and used all of us for promotion.” Both Dallas and Espinosa later deleted their tweets.

The rules on the TCA website note that "Teenasaurus Rox reserves the right to choose the winner from the top four vote generators." Teenasaurus Rox is listed as the operator of the TCA website.

Fox did not respond to requests for comment about the tweets, according to the BBC

You've read  of  free articles. Subscribe to continue.

Dear Reader,

About a year ago, I happened upon this statement about the Monitor in the Harvard Business Review – under the charming heading of “do things that don’t interest you”:

“Many things that end up” being meaningful, writes social scientist Joseph Grenny, “have come from conference workshops, articles, or online videos that began as a chore and ended with an insight. My work in Kenya, for example, was heavily influenced by a Christian Science Monitor article I had forced myself to read 10 years earlier. Sometimes, we call things ‘boring’ simply because they lie outside the box we are currently in.”

If you were to come up with a punchline to a joke about the Monitor, that would probably be it. We’re seen as being global, fair, insightful, and perhaps a bit too earnest. We’re the bran muffin of journalism.

But you know what? We change lives. And I’m going to argue that we change lives precisely because we force open that too-small box that most human beings think they live in.

The Monitor is a peculiar little publication that’s hard for the world to figure out. We’re run by a church, but we’re not only for church members and we’re not about converting people. We’re known as being fair even as the world becomes as polarized as at any time since the newspaper’s founding in 1908.

We have a mission beyond circulation, we want to bridge divides. We’re about kicking down the door of thought everywhere and saying, “You are bigger and more capable than you realize. And we can prove it.”

If you’re looking for bran muffin journalism, you can subscribe to the Monitor for $15. You’ll get the Monitor Weekly magazine, the Monitor Daily email, and unlimited access to CSMonitor.com.