'Wonder' author R.J. Palacio announces new works

Two upcoming projects, a book and an e-story, will be set in the 'Wonder' universe.

'Wonder' is by R.J. Palacio.

Bestselling “Wonder” author R.J. Palacio will release three new books and an e-story, according to publisher Knopf Books for Younger Readers, and one of the books and the story will be set in the “Wonder” universe.

“Wonder,” which was released in 2012, was Palacio’s debut novel and quickly became a bestseller as well as garnering favorable reviews. Monitor critic Augusta Scattergood said the book, which follows a young boy with a facial deformity who is trying to attend school for the first time,  “should be read by every middle school student, and their parents and teachers.”

The e-story, titled “The Julian Chapter: A Wonder Story,” will center on the character first introduced in “Wonder” and will become available May 26.

“I think a lot of children identify with Julian – the bully – whether they admit it or not, and they struggle with whether he has any chance for redemption,” Palacio told Publishers Weekly. “I think ‘The Julian Chapter’ will bring some closure for this character who has sparked so much discussion among my readers.” 

A character named Mr. Browne, who is an English teacher, is introduced in the novel and one of Palacio’s upcoming works will be titled “365 Days of Wonder: Mr. Browne’s Book of Precepts.” The “precepts” (sayings that inspire people to act decently) will be from figures such as Anne Frank and Nelson Mandela as well as compiled from precepts Palacio has received from readers. The book will also feature communication, like e-mails and letters, between characters from “Wonder.” It will be released Aug. 26 (chosen for “Wonder” protagonist August Pullman?).

The subjects of the other two forthcoming books have not yet been released.

of stories this month > Get unlimited stories
You've read  of  free articles. Subscribe to continue.

Unlimited digital access $11/month.

Get unlimited Monitor journalism.