Man Booker Prize will now be open to any novel written in English

The prestigious UK writing prize will now be open to any works that are published in the UK and were written in English.

Two of this year's nominees for the Man Booker Prize are 'The Lowland' by Jhumpa Lahiri and 'The Testament of Mary' by Colm Tóibín.

Well, Man Booker Prize literary director Ion Trewin did say there was more to the story when he was asked whether Americans would qualify for the award next year.

Those behind the prize have announced that not only will American writers be able to receive the Booker next year but any novel that is released in English and is published in the UK could get the prize starting in 2014.

Before now, only writers from the UK, Ireland, or countries belonging to the Commonwealth of Nations qualified for the Booker.

When rumors swirled last week that the Booker would be open to American writers starting next year, Trewin told the Guardian, “The information which is currently in circulation is incomplete” and said the announcement would come this week.

Booker Prize Foundation chair Jonathan Taylor said in a statement that the trustees originally considered making a separate prize for American writers but that “at the end of the process we were wary of jeopardizing or diluting the existing Man Booker Prize. Instead we agreed that the prize, which for 45 years has been the touchstone for literary fiction written in English of the highest quality, could enhance its prestige and reputation through expansion, rather than by setting up a separate prize... We are embracing the freedom of English in its versatility, in its vigor, in its vitality and in its glory wherever it may be. We are abandoning the constraints of geography and national boundaries.”

In addition, the requirements for how many works can be submitted for consideration by a publisher have also changed. If a publisher has had more titles make the longlist for the Booker recently, it will be able to submit more works. Publishers who have not recently had a work nominated will only be allowed to send in one title, while those with one or two titles that made the longlist within the past five years will be allowed two and so on, with a maximum of publishers who have had five or more titles nominated being allowed to submit four works.

Taylor said this rule “recognizes literary achievement” and that the new requirements were brought on partially by the amount of books judges are usually required to read, which he said “has long been a concern.”

“We are reasonably confident that the new arrangement will be slightly less challenging in terms of reading than the 151 books the judges considered this year,” he said.

To those writers who are worried more entries will mean authors from the UK are less likely to win the Booker, Trewin said, “Increased competition will be an even greater accolade,” according to the Telegraph.

When the possibility of American writers being included in consideration for the Booker was discussed last week, many writers were displeased, with current nominee Jim Crace telling the Independent, “There’s something in there that you would lose if you open it up to American author” and former winner Howard Jacobson telling the Telegraph that such a move would be the “wrong decision.”

The shortlist for this year’s prize was recently released and the winner will be announced on Oct. 15.

You've read  of  free articles. Subscribe to continue.
Real news can be honest, hopeful, credible, constructive.
What is the Monitor difference? Tackling the tough headlines – with humanity. Listening to sources – with respect. Seeing the story that others are missing by reporting what so often gets overlooked: the values that connect us. That’s Monitor reporting – news that changes how you see the world.

Dear Reader,

About a year ago, I happened upon this statement about the Monitor in the Harvard Business Review – under the charming heading of “do things that don’t interest you”:

“Many things that end up” being meaningful, writes social scientist Joseph Grenny, “have come from conference workshops, articles, or online videos that began as a chore and ended with an insight. My work in Kenya, for example, was heavily influenced by a Christian Science Monitor article I had forced myself to read 10 years earlier. Sometimes, we call things ‘boring’ simply because they lie outside the box we are currently in.”

If you were to come up with a punchline to a joke about the Monitor, that would probably be it. We’re seen as being global, fair, insightful, and perhaps a bit too earnest. We’re the bran muffin of journalism.

But you know what? We change lives. And I’m going to argue that we change lives precisely because we force open that too-small box that most human beings think they live in.

The Monitor is a peculiar little publication that’s hard for the world to figure out. We’re run by a church, but we’re not only for church members and we’re not about converting people. We’re known as being fair even as the world becomes as polarized as at any time since the newspaper’s founding in 1908.

We have a mission beyond circulation, we want to bridge divides. We’re about kicking down the door of thought everywhere and saying, “You are bigger and more capable than you realize. And we can prove it.”

If you’re looking for bran muffin journalism, you can subscribe to the Monitor for $15. You’ll get the Monitor Weekly magazine, the Monitor Daily email, and unlimited access to

QR Code to Man Booker Prize will now be open to any novel written in English
Read this article in
QR Code to Subscription page
Start your subscription today