'Delirium' author Lauren Oliver will pen a book for adults

Lauren Oliver's new book 'Rooms' will be released in 2014.

Writer Lauren Oliver is best known for her 'Delirium' series – expected to be a trilogy – which centers on a dystopian future where love is deemed dangerous.

Lauren Oliver, bestselling author of the young adult "Delirium" series, will publish a book for adults in the fall of 2014.

Oliver’s "Delirium" trilogy centers on a futuristic society where the government “cures” people when they turn 18 so they don’t fall in love. In the series, two teenagers, Lena and Alex, find themselves unexpectedly defying society’s rules. The third and final novel in the series, “Requiem,” is due to be released in 2013.

Oliver's adult book is titled “Rooms,” according to the publisher Ecco, which is an imprint of HarperCollins.

“[It was] as instantly gripping as it was elegantly written,” the book’s editor, Lee Boudreaux, told the New York Times of reading “Rooms” for the first time.

Molly Driscoll is a Monitor contributor.

of stories this month > Get unlimited stories
You've read  of  free articles. Subscribe to continue.

Unlimited digital access $11/month.

Get unlimited Monitor journalism.