All Book Reviews

  • Bend, Not Break

    How a frightened, determined little girl made her way from political prisoner to CEO.

  • A Tangle of Knots

    Lisa Graff's delightful, complex novel sends young readers searching for both a perfect cake recipe and a Talent with a capital "T."

  • Contagious

    A new case study in the vein of “Freakonomics” and “The Tipping Point” addresses the “why” of viral marketing.

  • Vera Gran: The Accused

    The life of beautiful World War II torch singer Vera Gran – who became trapped in the Warsaw Ghetto – is one of the missing chapters from the story of "The Pianist."

  • "The Double V" and "The Slaves' Gamble"

    Two recent releases chronicle the contentious history of blacks in the US military.

  • Citizenville

    Gavin Newsom wants social media to reinvent government.

  • The Myth of Martyrdom

    Suicide bombers are the opposite of brave, argues Adam Lankford.

  • Vampires in the Lemon Grove

    Karen Russell's short stories go where the wild things are.

  • The Afrika Reich

    Guy Saville's debut novel is a thriller with the heart of a blockbuster and the head of a history junkie.

  • Coolidge

    Amity Shlaes offers a fresh perspective on the 1920s and "Silent Cal," but infuses her narrative with ideology.

  • Portrait Inside My Head

    Phillip Lopate reflects on baseball, Brooklyn, and a mixed bag of other topics in his new collection of essays.

  • House of Earth

    Woody Guthrie's novel, 60 years in coming, offers a fresh window into the past – and into Guthrie himself.

  • P.G. Wodehouse: A Life in Letters

    Katherine A. Powers tracks the creator of Bertie Wooster and Jeeves through his correspondence.

  • Insane City

    Dave Barry’s hilariously dark new farce hits all the right notes.

  • Engineers of Victory

    Meet the engineers, scientists, technicians, and logistical experts whose ingenuity and innovations caused the Allies to win World War II.

  • Fresh Off the Boat: A Memoir

    Celebrity chef Eddie Huang's memoir offers a hilariously unflinching look at the American dream from a 21st-century immigrant's perspective.

  • How Literature Saved My Life

    Looking through a hyper-personal lens, David Shields offers opinions and proclamations on what makes particular writers important.

  • Standing in Another Man's Grave

    Scottish detective John Rebus returns for another atmospheric mystery.

  • 3 smart new historic novels

    There's a glorious interplay between historical fact and fiction in this week's fiction roundup.

  • The Rebellious Life of Mrs. Rosa Parks

    A new scholarly biography examines the life Rosa Parks – the icon America embraced yet never really knew.