Orange Prize for fiction 2011 shortlist

Celebrating its 16th anniversary this year, the Orange Prize for Fiction honors "excellence, originality and accessibility in women’s writing from throughout the world." Last year's winner was American author Barbara Kingsolver for her novel "The Lacuna." The 2011 award will be announced on June 8, 2011, and the winner will be one of these six novelists.

1. Emma Donoghue, for "Room"

The premise of "Room" by Irish novelist Emma Donoghue – a small boy and his mother are being kept captive in an 11' x 11' room – sounds horrifying. But Monitor reviewer Yvonne Zipp writes that "there's nothing lurid or prurient about this story of a young mom who is determined to create the best life she can for her son, no matter how horrifying her circumstances. (Think “Life is Beautiful,” only less cloying.)" This novel was also shortlisted for last year's Booker Prize.

1 of 6
of 5 stories this month > Get unlimited stories
You've read 5 of 5 free stories

Only $1 for your first month.

Get unlimited Monitor journalism.