2011 Caldecott Medal and Honor awards: here are the winners

The Randolph Caldecott Medal is awarded to the most distinguished American picture book for children. These delightful 2011 winners remind readers why a picture truly is worth a thousand words.

1. A Sick Day for Amos McGee, illustrated by Erin E. Stead

"A Sick Day for Amos McGee," illustrated by Erin E. Stead and written by Philip C. Stead (ages 4-8, Roaring Brook Press, 32pp.) is the 2011 Caldecott Medal winner. The unselfish effort that Amos McGee has poured into the care of his zoo friends is lovingly reciprocated by these animals when Amos is feeling under the weather.

1 of 3
of stories this month > Get unlimited stories
You've read  of  free articles. Subscribe to continue.

Unlimited digital access $11/month.

Get unlimited Monitor journalism.