Tar Heels coach could put his stamp on another hoop crown

Coaching a collegiate team to a national championship is special under any circumstances. But it's even sweeter if the school happens to be the coach's alma mater. Only 10 mentors have had that experience in the men's NCAA basketball tournament, which begins Week 2 of its three-week run Thursday. Roy Williams of the University of North Carolina, whose team has advanced to the "Sweet 16," could join even more exclusive company if the Tar Heels go all the way and win a second title in three years under his leadership. Those coaches, their alma maters, and the years in which they won NCAA championships (in chronological order):

Howard Hobson, Oregon 1939
Branch McCracken, Indiana 1940, 1953
Bud Foster, Wisconsin 1941
Vadal Peterson, Utah 1944
Forrest "Phog" Allen, Kansas 1952
Fred Taylor, Ohio State 1960
Ed Jucker, Cincinnati 1961, 1962
Norm Sloan, North Carolina State 1974
Gary Williams, Maryland 2002
Jim Boeheim, Syracuse 2003
Roy Williams, North Carolina 2005

– National Collegiate Athletic Association

QR Code to Etc...
Read this article in
QR Code to Subscription page
Start your subscription today