Representing their second city, Colts are back in Super Bowl

When the Indianapolis Colts take the field Sunday in Miami, they will attempt to win the second Super Bowl championship in franchise history. A victory over the Chicago Bears would be the first for the team since its owners pulled up stakes and moved from Baltimore to Indiana's capital in 1984. While still in Maryland, the Colts played in two of the first five Super Bowls. In what was considered a major upset, they lost to Joe Namath's New York Jets in 1969. Two years later, they defeated the Dallas Cowboys. Teams that have prevailed in the 40 Super Bowls to date, and the number of times each has taken home the Vince Lombardi championship trophy:

Pittsburgh Steelers, Dallas Cowboys, San Francisco 49ers 5
New England Patriots, Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders, Washington Redskins, Green Bay Packers 3
New York Giants, Denver Broncos, Miami Dolphins 2
Kansas City Chiefs, Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Chicago Bears, New York Jets, St. Louis Rams, Baltimore Colts (before moving to Indianapolis), Baltimore Ravens 1

You've read  of  free articles. Subscribe to continue.
QR Code to Etc...
Read this article in
QR Code to Subscription page
Start your subscription today