Heisman Trophy fame is no guarantee of pro football glory

After a landslide victory in a vote by the sports media, quarterback Troy Smith of Ohio State was awarded the Heisman Trophy last weekend as the most outstanding college football player of 2006. Whether he'll meet with success as a professional, however, is difficult to anticipate, since several Heisman winners have been only average or – worse – complete busts in the professional ranks. In the 71-year history of the award, only seven winners have gone on to such exceptional NFL careers that they've been enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame. The seven, where each played collegiately, and the year he won the Heisman:

Doak Walker, Southern Methodist University 1948
Paul Hornung, Notre Dame 1956
Roger Staubach, Navy 1963
O.J. Simpson, Southern California 1968
Tony Dorsett, University of Pittsburgh 1976
Earl Campbell, University of Texas 1977
Marcus Allen, Southern California 1981
Barry Sanders, Oklahoma State 1988

– 2006 ESPN Sports Almanac/ Pro Football Hall of Fame

of 5 stories this month > Get unlimited stories
You've read 5 of 5 free stories

Only $1 for your first month.

Get unlimited Monitor journalism.