It's all about pride as US and European golfers duel

The Ryder Cup, golf's best known and arguably most storied team competition, concludes three days of match-play competition Sunday at Oakland Hills Country Club in Bloomfield Township, Mich. When begun in 1927, the showdown paired men's teams from the United States and Britain. After the American side became too dominant, the format was changed in 1979 to create a showdown with a continental European squad. Since then, more even teams have battled for supremacy in a competition in which prestige, not prize money, is at stake. The winners by year, beginning in 1979, with the location of the matches and margin of victory in points:
1979 US 6 The Greenbrier, W.Va.
1981 US 9 Surrey, England
1983 US 1Palm Beach Gardens, Fla.
1985 Europe 5 Coldfield, England
1987 Europe 2 Dublin, Ohio
1989 Tied - Coldfield, England
1991 US 1 Kiawah Island, S.C.
1993 US 2 Coldfield, England
1995 Europe 1 Rochester, N.Y.
1997 Europe 1 Sotogrande, Spain
1999 US 1 Brookline, Mass.
2001 Europe 3 Coldfield, England

You've read  of  free articles. Subscribe to continue.
QR Code to Etc...
Read this article in
QR Code to Subscription page
Start your subscription today