National Book Award winners

Susan Sontag won the National Book Award for fiction last Wednesday night at a lavish $1,000-a-plate dinner hosted by Steve Martin in Times Square. Her fourth novel, "In America" (Farrar, Straus & Giroux), tells the story of a Polish actress who comes to America to begin a utopian community.

Other winners included:

Nonfiction: Nathaniel Philbrick, "In the Heart of the Sea" (Viking Penguin).

Poetry: Lucille Clifton, "Blessing the Boats" (BOA Editions).

Young Adult: Gloria Whelan, "Homeless Bird" (HarperCollins).

Science-fiction writer Ray Bradbury accepted a special lifetime achievement award from the Book Foundation, which raises money for literacy and writing programs.

For full story, see

(c) Copyright 2000. The Christian Science Publishing Society

We want to hear, did we miss an angle we should have covered? Should we come back to this topic? Or just give us a rating for this story. We want to hear from you.