Snack Pack of Series Facts

California tops among US champions

Eleven states have produced championship teams, with California's five titles the leader in America. Pennsylvania and Connecticut come next with four apiece, followed by New Jersey (three), and Texas and New York (two apiece).

Latin America's breakthrough

The first non-US team to play in the Series was Monterrey, Mexico, a repeat winner in 1957 and '58. No other Hispanic team has ever won, and only a handful have even reached the final.

Asia moves to forefront

Asian teams began to dominate the Series beginning in 1967, when a Japanese team from West Tokyo won. Twenty of the last 27 champions have been from Asia, with 15-time winner Taiwan, which won a record five consecutive titles beginning in 1977, head and shoulders above every other country. Besides Japan and Taiwan, South Korea won back-to-back crowns in 1984 and '85. Asia's domination was so complete that Little League officials discontinued inviting foreign teams for one year - 1975 - while studying the situation.

Philippine team forfeits '92 title

In the only championship game result ever overturned, a Philippine team was stripped of a 15-4 win over Long Beach, Calif., in 1992 for using used overage players. Long Beach defended its '92 title with a 3-2 decision over a team from Panama last year.

`Little' big leaguers

Five players have appeared in both the Little League and major-league World Series: Jim Barbieri, Boog Powell, Rick Wise, Carney Larnsford, and Derek Bell. A like number of ex-Little Leaguers are now in the Baseball Hall of Fame: Carl Yastrzemski, Jim Palmer, Tom Seaver, Rollie Fingers, and Steve Carlton.

Impressive warmup

This writer counts Japan's high-precision pregame infield practice at the 1976 Little League World Series among his fondest sportswriting memories. The speed and accuracy of every glove-popping throw made it a show in itself. Japan downed Campbell, Calif., in the final, 10-3.

Handful of flawless pitching efforts

There have been five no-hitters, including one perfect game (by Mexico's Angel Marcias in 1957) pitched in the championship.

Taiwan's 1987 juggernaut

The most lopsided win in championship game history occurred in 1987, when San-Hua, Taiwan, crushed Northwood of Irvine, Calif., 21-1.

Fields are scaled back

Diamond dimensions are two-thirds those of a full-size field. The pitcher's rubber is 46 feet from home plate, rather than 60 ft., 6 in.

You've read  of  free articles. Subscribe to continue.