The League of Nations, by unanimous vote of its Council, today expelled Soviet Russia because of its invasion of Finland. Four members of the Council, including Finland, abstained from voting on the expulsion motion. The others were China, Yugoslavia, and Greece.

This was the first time in League history that a nation has been expelled.

Earlier, the Assembly in record time condemned Russian aggression and asked members to aid Finland.

Of the 39 states present at the Assembly, nine abstained from voting on the resolution condemning Russia as an aggressor. They were the three Scandinavian countries, Norway, Sweden, and Denmark; three Baltic countries, Lithuania, Latvia, and Estonia; and Switzerland, China, and Bulgaria. . . .

After the vote against Russia the Assembly received Finnish thanks.

The Monitor is looking back at the events of World War II.

You've read  of  free articles. Subscribe to continue.