News In Brief

Five Latin American nations try to revive trade group

Central American countries have agreed to revive the Central American Common Market, a once-strong regional trade organization that deteriorated after a brief 1969 war between Honduras and El Salvador. The common market, which also includes Guatemala, Nicaragua, and Costa Rica, was formed in 1962 by the Treaty of Economic Integration. A meeting of the economic ministers of the market countries is scheduled for Aug. 24 in Tegucigalpa, Honduras.

of 5 stories this month > Get unlimited stories
You've read 5 of 5 free stories

Only $1 for your first month.

Get unlimited Monitor journalism.